MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In

Cub Scouts participate in Amelia Earhart Distinguished School Award Ceremony

Amelia Earhart Elementary has received yet another Distinguished School Award. This award is given by the California State Board of Education to schools that best represent exemplary and quality educational programs. Less than 5% of schools in the state of California will receive this award, and in the year 2018, two of those schools were in Alameda. This win marks the 3rd time Amelia Earhart Elementary has received this award since Joy Dean has taken over as Principal. Under her leadership, Amelia Earhart teachers rank 4.95 out of 5 on and the school itself received a 10 out of 10 for academics on

In celebration of the extraordinary achievement, Earhart Elementary held a ceremony on Tuesday, May 29th, with a special guest speaker, Alameda Mayor Trish Spencer. Principal Joy Dean had the wonderful idea to invite attending Cub Scouts to participate in the ceremony.

Pack 1076 Webelos Justin Su, Peter Daley, and Evren Senoglu presented the colors at the beginning of the ceremony, while Bear Scouts Lucas Hendrawan, Owen Hendrawan, and Marcus Yeh raised the new Distinguished Award flag. 

The scouts were extremely excited to be asked to participate in the assembly and did an amazing job with the tasks they were given. 

One thing scouting does is create lasting memories, being able to participate in the flag ceremony, in front of over 700 people, which included the Alameda Mayor Trish Spencer, is definitely a lasting memory. 

A very big thanks go out to Joy Dean for asking for Cub Scout participation and congratulations to Pack 1076, and the scouts who were able to participate. 


Copyright © 2000-2019 Alameda Council. All rights reserved
Web Site Powered By ScoutTools®